On Thursday, June 1st, 2017, and under the patronage of Professor Maher Natsheh, Acting President, An-Najah National University held a ceremony to celebrate the winners of An-Najah research awards for the year 2016 at the Korean Palestinian IT Institute of Excellence in the New Campus.

In the opening speech, Professor Naji Qatanani, Dean of Scientific Research said that the university aims at promoting scientific research through offering a number of awards such as Scientific Publication by High Impact Journals Award, Research Production Award, Best Faculty Award and Distinguished Professor Award.

He added that the university offers 100000$ of its annual budget to support 20 research projects on campus.

He mentioned that in 2016, An-Najah has published 156 research papers by Thomson Reuters, six times the ones published in 2009, and 206 papers by Scopus.

In turn, Prof. Natsheh expressed his delight to celebrate this event and pointed out that the university administration is working hard to develop scientific research as it is one of the pillars of university internationalization.

He also referred to An-Najah’s research achievements during the year 2016 including establishing the Animal House of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences and the agreements the university signed with international universities in terms of exchange.

As for the awards, the Best Faculty Award went to the Faculty of Sciences for the third time on a row while the Research Production Award went to nine researchers; namely, Dr. Nidal Jaradat, Prof. Abdul Naser Zaid, Dr. Rowa' Al-Ramahi, Dr. Ramzi Shawahneh, Dr. Saed Zyoud and Prof. Waleed Sweileh from the Faculty of Medicine; Prof. Hikmat Hilal from the Faculty of Sciences and Drs Tamer Khatib and Ehab Hijazi from the Faculty of Engineering and IT.

The ceremony also included honoring 55 researchers who won the Scientific Publication by High Impact Journals Award; 25 from the Faculty of Medicine, 12 from the Faculty of Sciences, 11 from the Faculty of Engineering and 3 from the Faculty of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine.

It is worth mentioning that 4 researcher from humanities faculties were awarded for the first time in this event. The researchers are Dr. Jamal Shaker, Dr. Basil Mansour, Dr. Abdul Khaliq Issa and Dr. Ekrema Shhab.

On this occasion, Dr. Saed Zyoud thanked An-Najah Administration and the deanship of scientific research for boosting the researchers towards innovation and excellence.


The Ceremony was also attended by Dr. Mohammad El-Amleh, Vice President of Academic Affairs; Dr. Ali Barakat, Dean of the Faculty of Sciences and a number of the university’s academic and administrative staff.

عدد القراءات: 146